Panthro – Inking and Coloring

For this project, I’ve chosen an illustration of Panthro by Mike Bowden.

Illustrator was the software chosen for all the steps to produce it. From inking to coloring. At first, I had some difficulties setting which way I was gonna do it and the pen tool came in handy, I also used the brush for some details.

2

For the colors, I first set which my basic swatched would be

carolinesiagha_colors

So I could then start coloring with the color decision already made

4

Then it was time for shading. I first set where my light would be coming from so I could better understand the drawing not as a flat anymore, but as a 3D.

Screen Shot 2016-12-18 at 04.09.35.png

5

And at last, the highlights.

6

So I came up with this result:

carolinesiagha_final

 

Special thanks for Mike Bowden for lending his art and to Professor Joseph Bodick for the opportunity to work on it.

Leave a comment